{"stateName":"Maryland","slug":"maryland","summary":"A free, practical Maryland apostille guide: order the right certified record, authenticate a Maryland notary through the correct circuit-court clerk when needed, and submit the prepared packet to the Secretary of State in Annapolis.","commonDocuments":"Maryland birth, death and marriage certificates; certified court orders; SDAT status certificates and certified company filings; school records; properly notarized private documents. Federal and foreign-issued records have different authorities.","timing":"Checked 2026-10-26: SOS prominently says WALK-INS NOT AVAILABLE and warns construction may move service to mail only; older walk-in text conflicts. Use mail unless current appointment availability is confirmed. Maryland SOS lists FedEx/UPS around 3-4 days, USPS Priority at most 3-4 days processing, and regular mail 7-14 business days. These are published estimates, not a deadline promise; procurement, clerk certification, corrections and both transit legs add time. DVR separately posts six weeks for mail record orders.","caveat":"The issuing authority controls official records; the notary commission state controls a private notarization. A Maryland resident does not turn an out-of-state record into a Maryland record. Apostilles authenticate signatures/capacity/seals, not document contents or foreign acceptance.","officialResourceName":"Maryland Secretary of State Certifications","officialResourceUrl":"https://sos.maryland.gov/Certifications/Pages/default.aspx","micrositeUrl":null,"lawResourceName":null,"lawResourceUrl":null,"secondaryLawResourceName":null,"secondaryLawResourceUrl":null,"legalNotes":["HCCH-01 | Apostille Convention text | treaty text | checked 2026-10-26 | published not stated; revision not stated; effective not independently established | PDF pp. 1-3, Arts. 1-7, 9, 12-13 | https://assets.hcch.net/docs/b12ad529-5f75-411b-b523-8eebe86613c0.pdf","HCCH-02 | Apostille Convention status table | official treaty-status record | checked 2026-10-26 | published not stated; revision 2026-06-30; effective not independently established | EIF, EXT, objections and notes; table last update 30-VI-2026 | https://www.hcch.net/en/instruments/conventions/status-table/?cid=41","MD-01 | Maryland SOS Certifications | official agency guidance | checked 2026-10-26 | published not stated; revision not stated; effective not independently established | walk-in notice; Timeline; FAQs: steps, payment, school records, addresses, verification; Legal Basis \u00A77-106 | https://sos.maryland.gov/Certifications/Pages/default.aspx","MD-02 | Mailing checklist for international certification | official request form | checked 2026-10-26 | published not stated; revision not stated; effective not independently established | PDF p. 1, header, sender/country/count, one payment, do-not-staple-check and prepaid return footnotes | https://sos.maryland.gov/Certifications/SiteAssets/Pages/default/check%20list%20FOR%20DOCUMENTS%20to%20be%20certified1.pdf","MD-03 | Request Birth Certificates | official agency guidance | checked 2026-10-26 | published not stated; revision not stated; effective not independently established | eligible requesters; representative authority; mail ordering; appointment notice | https://health.maryland.gov/vsa/Pages/birth.aspx","MD-04 | Birth record application | official issuer form | checked 2026-10-26 | published not stated; revision 2021-10; effective not independently established | PDF p. 1, ID, order, $10 and military fee-waiver footnote | https://health.maryland.gov/vsa/Documents/Certificates/Birth/birth%20cert%20appl_20211007.pdf","MD-05 | Request Death Certificates | official agency guidance | checked 2026-10-26 | published not stated; revision not stated; effective not independently established | 2012 onward; entitlement; mail and VitalChek; earlier records to Archives | https://health.maryland.gov/vsa/Pages/death.aspx","MD-06 | Death record application | official issuer form | checked 2026-10-26 | published not stated; revision 2021-10; effective not independently established | PDF p. 1, entitlement, first $10/additional $12, ID and military waiver footnote | https://health.maryland.gov/vsa/Documents/Certificates/Death/dcert%20application_20211007.pdf","MD-07 | Marriage record application | official issuer form | checked 2026-10-26 | published not stated; revision 2018-04; effective not independently established | PDF p. 1, identifying data, ID, $12, return, military waiver footnote | https://health.maryland.gov/vsa/Documents/Certificates/Marriage/Marriage%20Cert%20Appl_20180411.pdf","MD-16 | Request Maryland marriage certificates | official agency guidance | checked 2026-10-26 | published not stated; revision not stated; effective not independently established | 2007 onward, eligible spouses/representatives/attorneys; earlier records from circuit clerk or Archives | https://health.maryland.gov/vsa/pages/marriage.aspx","MD-17 | Maryland SOS appointment booking | official scheduling locator | checked 2026-10-26 | published not stated; revision not stated; effective not independently established | Official page booking link; availability not tested | https://outlook.office.com/book/SecretaryofStateFrontDesk@stateofmaryland.onmicrosoft.com/?ismsaljsauthenabled=","MD-08 | Vital Records processing times | official agency guidance | checked 2026-10-26 | published not stated; revision not stated; effective not independently established | temporary increased processing table: lobby/mail/online/corrections | https://health.maryland.gov/vsa/Pages/proctime.aspx","MD-09 | Archives apostille request instructions | official agency guidance | checked 2026-10-26 | published not stated; revision not stated; effective not independently established | Until further notice; return via USPS; record plus certification letter to SOS | https://shop.msa.maryland.gov/orders/pages/Instructions/ApostilleRequests.aspx","MD-10 | Baltimore County notary certifications | official agency guidance | checked 2026-10-26 | published not stated; revision not stated; effective not independently established | Hours; Notary Certifications, $1, payment and PO Box 6754 | https://www.mdcourts.gov/clerks/baltimore/notary","MD-11 | Queen Anne\u2019s divorce/name-change certified copy request | official court form | checked 2026-10-26 | published not stated; revision not stated; effective 2024-11-19 | PDF p. 1, effective-date header, $5 plus $.50/page, payee and address | https://www.courts.state.md.us/sites/default/files/import/clerks/queenannes/pdfs/copyrequestformqueenannes.pdf","MD-12 | SDAT certificate of status ordering | official agency guidance | checked 2026-10-26 | published not stated; revision not stated; effective not independently established | Internet order and verification; Other ways, $20/$20 expedite; Special Notes | https://dat.maryland.gov/businesses/Pages/Internet-Certificate-of-Status.aspx","MD-13 | SDAT Charter FAQ | official agency guidance | checked 2026-10-26 | published not stated; revision not stated; effective not independently established | How can I get a copy; $1/page \u002B $20 certification, expedite and Charter Unit address | https://dat.maryland.gov/businesses/pages/charter-frequently-asked-questions.aspx","MD-14 | UMD Notary and Apostille Credential Certification | official public-university issuer guidance | checked 2026-10-26 | published not stated; revision not stated; effective not independently established | Steps 1-3, UMD request, clerk certification and SOS | https://registrar.umd.edu/graduation-diplomas/notary-apostille-credential-certification","US-01 | U.S. Office of Authentications | official agency guidance | checked 2026-10-26 | published not stated; revision 2025-12-22; effective not independently established | Preparation; DS-4194; current service options and separate mailing/physical addresses | https://travel.state.gov/content/travel/en/replace-certify-docs/authenticate-your-document/office-of-authentications.html","MD-15 | Maryland judicial records requests | official judiciary guidance | checked 2026-10-26 | published not stated; revision not stated; effective not independently established | availability and archived/active file exceptions | https://www.courts.state.md.us/judicialrecords/recordsrequests","NG-01 | Notary Geek public routing model | attributed Greg Lirette / Notary Geek practical judgment | checked 2026-10-26 | published not stated; revision not stated; effective not independently established | document issuer, notary-state, recipient acceptance and logistics boundaries | https://notary.cx/notarial-routing-model.html"],"misconceptionTitle":null,"misconceptionIntro":"You can complete this process without hiring Notary Geek. Greg Lirette / Notary Geek\u2019s practical distinction is that paid help earns its fee through document review, correct issuer/notary routing, retrieval, clerk/state handoffs, rejection repair and agreed return or international shipping. A runner cannot waive Maryland\u2019s clerk requirement, issuer eligibility or foreign-recipient rules. Compare a bank or local notary only after the required act and certificate are known; confirm availability and price. No Maryland runner availability, deadline or service price is promised here.","misconceptionNotes":null,"whatWeKnow":["Choose the receiving-country route first \u2014 Obtain the receiving office\u2019s written document list: exact record, age, language, original/certified copy and whether an apostille is required. Check the HCCH table\u2019s entry-into-force, territorial and objection notes for the actual destination/date; being listed is insufficient. Where the Convention applies, the apostille replaces consular legalization of the covered signature. For a non-Convention route, follow the destination\u2019s instructions for Maryland certification, U.S. Department of State authentication and any embassy stage. [HCCH-01: Arts. 1-3, 9, 12-13; HCCH-02.]","Separate outgoing Maryland records from incoming foreign records \u2014 This guide sends Maryland-origin documents abroad. A foreign-issued birth certificate intended for use in Maryland belongs to its issuing country\u2019s authentication route; translating it or adding a Maryland custodian affidavit does not change that origin. Likewise an FBI record belongs to the federal route, even when its subject lives in Maryland. A private signature properly notarized by a Florida notary follows Florida authentication rather than Maryland based on the signer\u2019s address. [HCCH-01: Arts. 1, 3, 5; US-01; NG-01: practical routing.]","Choose certified records rather than universal notarization \u2014 A state/county record with its issuing office\u2019s authorized signature and seal goes to SOS as issued; it is not put through the private-notary sequence simply because it needs an apostille. For an old record or former clerk signature, ask the Certification Desk whether the signature can be authenticated before paying for replacement or mailing the only copy. A notarized cover sheet authenticates that notarial act, not automatically the underlying vital, court or corporate record. [MD-01: State/County issued documents; NG-01.]","Order a Maryland birth certificate \u2014 Use the MDH birth ordering page and its linked application, not a hospital souvenir. Eligible requesters include the person, named parent, court-appointed guardian or surviving spouse; representatives need the stated notarized permission. The application requests the birth name, date/place, parents and any relevant changed name. Records filed more than 100 years ago belong to Archives. Sign the application, include the required ID copy and a self-addressed stamped envelope. Without government photo ID, sign the form\u2019s declaration and supply two listed name/address documents; the record is mailed only to that supported address. Mail with $10 per copy by check/money order payable to Division of Vital Records, PO Box 68760, Baltimore MD 21215-0036. Its military-service footnote provides limited fee waivers with proof; it does not waive SOS fees. [MD-03; MD-04: PDF p. 1.]","Order death and marriage records with their own prerequisites \u2014 MDH handles Maryland deaths from 2012 onward; older death records go to State Archives. Death applicants need entitlement evidence as well as ID: for example relationship, estate authority or documented business need. The checked death form lists $10 first copy and $12 each additional copy of that same certificate in one transaction. DVR marriage certificates cover events from January 1, 2007; earlier marriages go to the circuit-court clerk or Archives. Eligible marriage applicants are a spouse, authorized representative with the spouse\u2019s notarized permission, or attorney with proof. The form lists $12 per copy and requests spouse names, date/place, relationship and ID; its alternative-ID declaration requires two listed address documents if photo ID is unavailable. Mail signed applications, supporting copies, their separate DVR payment and return envelope to PO Box 68760. Both forms contain limited military fee-waiver footnotes. [MD-05; MD-06; MD-07: PDF p. 1, including footer; MD-16.]","Plan vital-record procurement before the apostille queue \u2014 DVR\u2019s lobby requires an appointment; use MDH\u2019s current appointment information before travel. Mail record ordering has no expedited shipping option. MDH links VitalChek for online ordering with added vendor fees. On the checked processing page DVR lists same-day lobby service, six-week mail orders, five-week online regular or three-week expedited shipping orders, and ten-week corrections. These are separate from the SOS apostille queue and may change. A certificate that has not yet been registered or needs correction takes a different timeline. [MD-03; MD-05; MD-08.]","Use Archives records without assuming an apostille package \u2014 For an older record held by Maryland State Archives, choose the specific certified record in its official ordering service. Its current notice says it cannot process apostille requests: it mails the record and certification letter to you via USPS. Forward both with the Maryland SOS checklist, payment and return materials. Do not discard the certification letter or expect automatic Archives-to-SOS forwarding. [MD-09: Until further notice.]","Get court judgments from the court that entered them \u2014 Request an issuer-certified divorce decree, name-change order or other exact court record from the circuit-court clerk where entered, giving case number if known, party names, date and return address. A Case Search printout is not the certified decree. As a bounded example, Queen Anne\u2019s County\u2019s form effective 2024-11-19 orders by mail or in person at 200 N. Commerce Street, Centreville MD 21617; fee $5 certification plus $.50 per page, checks/money orders/cashier checks payable to Clerk of Circuit Court; cards only in-office. Other courts\u2019 ordering/payment procedures differ. [MD-11: PDF p. 1; MD-15.]","Order SDAT status certificates as official company records \u2014 A Certificate of Status describes the entity\u2019s status at issuance; it is different from the filed articles. SDAT offers Business Express ordering and verification. For a mailed certificate, send the entity name/department ID and request to SDAT Corporate Charter Division, 700 East Pratt Street, 2nd Floor, Suite 2700, Baltimore MD 21202; listed fee $20, plus $20 if expedited. Explain foreign authentication and request an SOS-authenticatable issued output; a downloaded search result is insufficient. Resolve forfeiture, missing returns or other standing issues before buying a certificate. [MD-12: ordering and Special Notes.]","Order certified company filings separately from private resolutions \u2014 For articles/amendments, specify the exact filing and request a certified copy from SDAT; ordinary online images are not the same. Its FAQ lists $1/page plus $20 for first-copy certification, with $20 expedited service if selected. Make the check payable to State Department of Assessments and Taxation; mail to Corporate Charter Unit, 700 E. Pratt St., Suite 2700, Baltimore MD 21202-6377. A private resolution or operating agreement uses its proper signature/notarial route rather than becoming an SDAT-certified filing. Ask about fees for multiple copies or filings before combining them. [MD-13: copy question; NG-01: practical distinction.]","Prepare educational records through the school \u2014 Obtain the registrar\u2019s current diploma/transcript or verification procedure and arrange the appropriate school-official notarization. UMD\u2019s official process starts with its Request for Notarization of Documents, requiring the student\u2019s Directory ID login; the registrar only handles that first stage. Then obtain certification in the notary\u2019s commissioning county and submit to Maryland SOS. Follow the actual notary\u2019s county rather than assuming every school uses the same clerk. Maryland SOS describes sealed school records being opened by the notary; coordinate with the registrar before opening a sealed packet yourself. [MD-14: Steps 1-3; MD-01: school FAQ.]","Complete the private-document notarization before clerk certification \u2014 For an affidavit, power of attorney or private company statement, identify the required acknowledgment/oath or other lawful act before signing, using the recipient\u2019s instructions or appropriate legal advice. The Maryland notary completes the certificate, signature and seal for that act. Do not treat a signature and loose stamp as an interchangeable certificate. Next take or send the original notarized document to the circuit-court clerk in the notary\u2019s commissioning county shown on the seal. It is not chosen by your home, school address or signing venue. [MD-01: notarized-document sequence; NG-01: act-before-platform judgment.]","Budget and complete the county-clerk stage \u2014 Baltimore County\u2019s published example charges $1 per notarized document; it accepts mail or in-person requests, with cash/check/card in person and check/money order by mail. Mail for a Baltimore County notary goes to Baltimore County Circuit Court, Attn: Clerk\u2019s Office Notary Division, PO Box 6754, Towson MD 21285. Its posted hours are Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m.-4 p.m., no appointment, except holidays. Use the correct commissioning county\u2019s instructions for its payee, courier/street address, return postage and hours; this PO Box is not a courier address. Clerk certification precedes the $5 state stage. [MD-10: Notary Certifications and Hours.]","Fill the current Maryland mailing checklist \u2014 Download MD-02 directly from SOS. Enter sender/contact, date, destination country, document count, amount and any special instructions. Include all properly issued/certified documents and one U.S. check or U.S. money order for $5 \u00D7 documents, payable to Secretary of State. Do not staple the check. Mail payment is different from walk-in service, where SOS also accepts credit/debit cards. Record-purchase fees, notary fees, county certification and shipping are additional costs payable to their own providers. [MD-02: PDF p. 1; MD-01: How do I have documents certified.]","Send to the Annapolis certification office \u2014 Address the packet to Certification Desk, Office of the Secretary of State, 16 Francis Street, 1st floor, Annapolis MD 21401. The current SOS page uses 16 Francis Street for mail and walk-in service, naming the Wineland Building. No separate courier street address is published on the checked checklist; retain the desk/floor details for carrier delivery. USPS record-procurement PO Boxes in Baltimore are not this apostille destination. [MD-02: header; MD-01: addresses.]","Check the construction notice before planning a visit \u2014 The current top SOS notice says WALK-INS NOT AVAILABLE AT THIS TIME. Scheduled appointments may change due to construction possibly starting around mid-October, after which service becomes mail only. The official booking link is listed as MD-17; use it to check availability and obtain actual confirmation before travel. The notice limits appointments to ten documents per customer and two family members. Older text still describes Monday-Friday 9 a.m.-1 p.m. walk-ins; do not rely on it over the top notice. Mail is the verified submission alternative. SOS estimates around 3-4 days for FedEx/UPS, at most 3-4 days processing for USPS Priority and 7-14 business days for regular mail; these exclude procurement/corrections and are not guarantees. [MD-01: top notice, Timeline and contradictory older hours; MD-17.]","Arrange return delivery before sending originals \u2014 Enclose a postage-paid self-addressed envelope large enough for the full attached packet or a usable prepaid express return envelope/label. Keep copies of both tracking numbers. The Maryland checklist names FedEx/UPS as examples; it does not establish every overseas carrier or account arrangement. If returning abroad, confirm carrier service, label validity, pickup/billing and a deliverable recipient address before submission; a prepaid domestic return to your designated helper can be a simpler plan. Do not put card details in an unsecured cover letter. [MD-02: return and tracking footnotes; international planning is NG-01 practical guidance.]","Keep federal documents on their federal route \u2014 FBI history checks and federal agency records do not become Maryland records through a private notary cover sheet. Follow the U.S. Department of State\u2019s preparation and DS-4194 instructions; its federal apostille/authentication office is distinct from Maryland SOS, and its mailing address is distinct from its Washington counter. Federal court documents can have their own authorized federal authentication route; check that court\u2019s clerk and the competent federal authority rather than presuming Maryland handles them. [US-01; HCCH-01: Arts. 3, 6; NG-01.]","Resolve electronic and translation exceptions before paying \u2014 This guide verifies the ordinary paper route. No Maryland e-Apostille or generally accepted conversion of a RON PDF was established; ask the proper county clerk and SOS about the exact electronic record before printing it for submission. Ask the foreign recipient whether it requires translation, a sworn translator, translated apostille, or separately authenticated translation. A translation or private custodian statement cannot substitute for the official issuer certification. [MD-01; HCCH-01: Arts. 1, 5; NG-01: qualified practical boundary.]","Worked case: one birth record plus one private affidavit \u2014 Assuming the requester qualifies, one new MDH birth certificate is $10, followed directly by one $5 SOS apostille. A separate correctly notarized private affidavit adds the notary\u2019s own fee, the applicable clerk fee (Baltimore County example $1), then another $5 SOS apostille. With that county example the listed record/clerk/state total is $21 before notarization and shipping. The birth record does not need the affidavit\u2019s clerk step. This is a synthetic budget, not a service quote or destination approval. [MD-04; MD-10; MD-02.]","Worked case: corporate record and court order \u2014 One mailed SDAT Certificate of Status costs $20 plus $5 SOS; optional SDAT expedite adds $20. For a three-page Queen Anne\u2019s certified order, the form\u2019s $5 \u002B 3 \u00D7 $.50 gives $6.50, then $5 SOS. Together those listed non-expedited issuer/state fees total $36.50 before delivery. A company affidavit is not a substitute for either certified record. These calculations assume one authentication per record and the stated examples only. [MD-12; MD-11; MD-02.]","Check the returned certificate and repair the actual defect \u2014 Compare the name/capacity, document and destination with your order, keeping the attachments intact. Maryland lists 410-974-5521 for authenticity confirmation; no online Maryland apostille register was established here. If returned, preserve the written reason and tracking, then ask the responsible issuer, original notary, clerk or SOS to correct that specific defect before resubmitting. For foreign refusal, obtain the receiving authority\u2019s written reason, reviewer and rule; escalate a treaty/attachment dispute through the relevant competent office. Do not edit completed certificates yourself. [MD-01: authenticity contact; HCCH-01: Art. 7; NG-01: practical recovery.]","Choose DIY or managed help by the work needed \u2014 Greg Lirette / Notary Geek\u2019s practical advice is to keep issuer certification, notarization, apostille and shipping separate. You can use every official route above yourself; the guide is free, while government, carrier and any chosen notary charges remain payable. Managed value can include reviewing the recipient\u2019s request, procuring records, coordinating clerk/state handoffs and return shipment, or resolving defects. A runner\u2019s travel may help logistics but does not create an exemption, guaranteed queue speed or guaranteed foreign acceptance. [NG-01: attributed practical judgment; MD-01: acceptance limitation.]"],"whatMustBeConfirmed":["Construction and counter access: top notice suspends walk-ins and warns appointments may change or cease; older walk-in text is inconsistent. Confirm a current appointment through the official link before travel; mail remains available. [MD-01.]","Old/former-clerk signatures: SOS may need to confirm signature availability before submission; do not infer a fixed maximum record age from this guide. [MD-01.]","Death-form pricing is unusual: the checked PDF says $10 first/$12 additional same-record copies. Re-download the linked current form before payment; do not silently reverse those amounts. [MD-06.]","Exact commissioning county payment, courier address and return plan; Baltimore County is a bounded example, not statewide office logistics. [MD-10.]","Electronic/RON output, direct international return and any recipient-specific translation/version requirements remain case-specific; no e-Apostille capability established. [MD-01; MD-02; HCCH-02.]","MDH/SDAT procurement timing and fees, closure notices and carrier service change; checked dates do not refresh automatically. No government submission or shipment was tested. [MD-08; MD-12; MD-13.]"],"sourceConfidence":"High for the cited published ordinary paper routes, checklist and issuer forms checked 2026-10-26; qualified for electronic outputs, former signatures, individual eligibility, county logistics and foreign acceptance. Source dates are separate from retrieval; no issuance, payment, shipment or recipient acceptance was exercised.","lastReviewed":"2026-10-26","contentUpdateUrl":"/request.html","canIssueEApostille":null,"eApostilleCapabilityNote":"No current Maryland e-Apostille issuance or general RON-to-paper acceptance procedure was established by the sources checked. An electronic notarization, a PDF scan and an e-Apostille are different products. Resolve the exact output with the county clerk and SOS before relying on a printout.","apostillePhysicalSecurityLevel":null,"apostillePhysicalSecurityFeatures":"No independent physical-security examination performed.","apostillePhysicalSecurityNote":"Keep the official record, clerk certification if applicable and apostille together. Preserve scans without removing attachments or inserting pages. No particular security-paper feature was independently examined.","targetedLawReviewDate":null,"targetedLawReviewScope":null}